Rihanna’s Rated R…”Where them bloggers at?”

Soulful, silky, smooth…revealing! These are the thoughts you get and much more upon hearing the sounds and lyrics of Rihanna’s newest and latest musical excursion titled Rated R. There’s so much great tracks on this album that I really don’t know where to start. The album consists of a total of 13 songs and one bonus track. The album cover is a black-and-white portrait of Rihanna posing in seemingly gothic looking apparel and make-up, with her right hand covering her right eye. Rated R features production work from several producers, but the song that stands out from the rest and shines is Photographs, produced by Will.i.am. I’ve never heard Rihanna sound softer, sweeter or more personal with lines like…

All I’ve got are these photographs
I remember when I used to make you laugh
I don’t wanna be stuck in the past
But you’re all that I have that I had
And I don’t wanna lose what we built this far
This is me and you, you’re my superstar
I’d give anything, baby here’s my heart
My heart, my heart…

And it gets more intense

Why, Why, Whhhyyyy
Why couldn’t I be the one
Why, Why, Whhhyyyy

Also, my two personal favorites on the album, both produced by The-Dream & Tricky Stewart, titled Hard and Rockstar 101 and feature guest performances by Young Jeezy and Slash. Rihanna’s reference to cyberspace is tickling when she chants during the bridge of Hard

Where them bloggers at

Where them bloggers at

Where they at, where they at, where they at

The songs that give the album its substance are Stupid in Love and Russian Roulette (produced by Ne-Yo), Cold Case Love (written by Justin Timberlake and produced by The Y’s) and Fire Bomb produced by Brian Kennedy, with Kennedy also responsible for Disturbia, Rihanna’s hit off of her Good Girl Gone Bad: Reloaded album. The song that reflects best the mood and theme of Rated R would be G4L (Gangsta4Life) produced by Chase & Status, who also produced the album’s mini-intro song Mad House. One song in particular titled Te Amo speaks of a whimsical lesbian romance.

and we danced underneath the candelabra
she takes the lead
that’s when I saw it in her eyes it’s over
Then she says te amo
then she put her hand around me waist
I told her no,
She cries Te amo

The remaining cuts, Wait Your Turn, Rude Boy, The Last Song and even Hole In My Head (bonus track) I’d classify as album fillers to accommodate Rihanna’s multiple musical styles and influences. With that said, Rated R is a strong musical presentation delivered by Rihanna that’s worth buying and will most certainly have listeners returning more than once to hear and see the intimate sights and sounds of her new movie. BARBADOS Rose

RECOMMENDATION: Yes

Score: 4 of 5 stars

Comments
2 Responses to “Rihanna’s Rated R…”Where them bloggers at?””
  1. mynewhitman says:

    Nice review as usual. Just a pointer that Te Amo is a cover of a song written by a man. You’re right though that it was a whimsical song.

    • truforia says:

      Thanx Myne..! That being true would make Te Amo a much more interesting song, but if you’re referring to reggaetón artist Makano’s smash hit “Te Amo”, off of his album of the same name I would beg to differ. There is a distinct difference between the lyrics of both songs.

      “Te Amo” – Makano

      She still calls me. It is not my fault
      That she has not forgotten me.
      Please I hope that you will not analyze
      but will hear what I must say
      If you understood how much I loved you
      And that to be with you is what makes me happiest
      She is nothing but a sad past
      I love you I love you I love you
      I would like to understand why you cannot believe me
      If I am a man of only one woman
      I have demonstrated in my form that you need to believe me
      I cannot accept that you doubt the completeness of my fidelity
      And now you shout to me that I deceive you for it is not true
      If you understood how much I loved you
      And that to be with you is what makes me happiest
      She is nothing but a sad past
      I love you I love you I love you
      Let us not allow love to die
      Let us not allow the flame to be extinguished
      Please I hope that you will not analyze
      but will hear what I must say

      “Te Amo” – Rihanna

      Te amo, te amo
      She says to me, I hear the pain in her voice
      Then we danced underneath the candelabra
      She takes the lead
      That’s when I saw it in her eyes – it’s over

      Chorus
      Then she says te amo.
      Then she put her hand around me waist
      I told her no,
      She cries Te amo.
      I told her Im not gonna run away but let me go
      My soul is crying, without asking why
      I said te amo, somebody tell me what she said
      Don’t it mean I love you
      I Think it means I love you
      Don’t it mean I love you

      Te amo, te amo, shes scared to breathe
      I hold her hand, I’ve got no choice, uhh
      Pulled me out on the beach, danced in the water, I start to leave
      She’s begging me and asking why its over

      Chorus
      Then she says te amo.
      Then she put her hand around me waist
      I told her no,
      She cries Te amo.
      I told her Im not gonna run away but let me go
      My soul is crying, without asking why
      I said te amo, somebody tell me what she said
      Don’t it mean I love you
      I Think it means I love you
      Don’t it mean I love you

      Yes we can dance, but you gotta watch your hands.
      Watch me all night, I move under the light because I understand that we all need love
      And I’m not afraid to feel the love but I don’t feel that way, no

      Chorus
      Then she said te amo then she put her hands around me waist
      I told her no,
      She cried Te Amo, I told her I’ll never run away but let me go
      Her soul hears a cry, without asking why
      I said te amo, wished somebody tell me what she said
      Dont it mean I love you
      Think it means I love you
      Dont it mean I love you
      Think it means I love you. I love you

      Te amo, Te amo
      Don’t it mean I love you

      Makano’s video to Te Amo depicts a man in love with a woman he is romantically involved with within the confines of a relationship, whereas Rihanna’s song “Te Amo” phantoms a romantic encounter amongst two women during an evening of chance.

Leave a Reply

